environment_v2

Objectives

_  Innovative Advanced Oxidation Processes (AOPs), biological treatment processes and possible combinations of them, to reduce the pollution level present in problematic wastewaters like winery, olive mill and textile wastewaters.

Development of low cost biosorbents for removal of heavy metals, endocrine disruptors compounds, pharmaceutical active ingredients and pesticides from water

Development of new solid biofuels with high calorific value, produced as pellets or bricks, from olive oil wastes with other industrial and agro-industrial wastes, and improve the BioCombus technology to allow consolidation and replication in similar or new situations

Perform new studies on soil organic and inorganic phosphorus dynamics using a sequential fractionation method under field conditions. Study and evaluation of environmental risks derived from the use of phosphate fertilizers and from animal manure addition

Understand the vulnerability of aquifer systems to contamination and the impacts of pollution on natural hydrochemical processes

Team

7
José A. Peres

Water Treatment

Principal Investigator

jperes@utad.pt

fotos7
Fernando Braga

Environment

fbraga@utad.pt

fotos28
João Claro

Industrial Ecology

jcclaro@utad.pt

fotos8
João Coutinho

Soils Analysis

j_coutin@utad.pt

6
Marco Lucas

Water Treatment

mlucas@utad.pt

5
Fernando Pacheco

Geochemistry

fpacheco@utad.pt

4
António Pirra

Environment

apirra@utad.pt

fotos25
Marta Roboredo

Soils Analysis

roboredo@utad.pt

Vanessa
Vanessa Guimaraes

Water treatment

guimavs@gmail.com

Collaborators

Jorge Jesus Rodríguez Chueca

João Ricardo Sousa

PhD and Master Students

Ana Rita da Silva Cerqueira

Carlos Luis Leite Amor

Diana Maria Vieira Rios

Joana Oliveira Teixeira da Mota

Maria Adelaide Perdigão

Susana Miguel Moura

Regina Maria Bessa Santos

Partnerships

Water and wastewater treatment

University of Porto

University of Nottingham

Plataforma Solar de Almeria – CIEMAT

Universidad de Extremadura

Universidad Complutense de Madrid

Universidad de Málaga

Universidad de Castilla la Mancha

 

Solid wastes management

EMAR (Água e Resíduos de Vila Real)

AdTMAD (Águas de Trás-os-Montes e Alto Douro)

Resinorte (Sistema multimunicipal de triagem, recolha, valorização e tratamento de resíduos sólidos urbanos do Norte Central)

Sonae Indústria

Tabolima (Indústria e Comércio de Madeiras)

CAOM (Cooperativa Agrícola dos Olivicultores de Murça)

 

Groundwater and agricultural soils characterization

Universidad de Cordoba

Rothamsted Research

North Wyke

University of Arkansas

Utrecht University

Universidade de São Paulo

The Hydogeological Department of the Hungarian Geological Survey

Universitá della Calabria

Instituto Federal do Triângulo Mineiro.