applied_v2

Objectives

_  Synthesis and characterization of new photochromic organic molecules for use in optical devices and textiles

_  Development of new dyes to act as photosensitizers for photodynamic therapy of cancer, ligands for affinity chromatography of proteins, fluorescent NIR probes for biomolecules and to be used in dye-sensitized solar cells

_  Synthesis of new calixarene-based architectures for molecular recognition, catalysis, electronic and optoelectronic devices and sensory applications

Team

Paulo Coelho

Photochromism

Principal Investigator

pcoelho@utad.pt

3
Luís Carvalho

Photochromism

lcarv@utad.pt

santossantos
Paulo Santos

Dyes synthesis

psantos@utad.pt

fotos27
Lucinda Reis

Dyes Synthesis

lucinda.reis@utad.pt

prata
José Prata

Calixarenes

jvprata@deq.isel.ipl.pt

alexandra
Alexandra Costa

Calixarenes

acosta@deq.isel.ipl.pt

Foto Patrícia Barata
Patrícia Barata

Calixarenes

pbarata@deq.isel.ipl.pt

Collaborators

Ana Margarida Ferreira

Maria do Céu Sousa

Patrícia Alexandra Miranda David Barata  

PhD and Master Students

André Emanuel Polónia

Marlene Lurdes Ferreira Mendes Pacheco

Sofia Manuela Pinto Friães   

Tiago Dourado Martins

Tânia Catarina Dias Fernandes

Vânia Cristina Graça

Partnerships

Polo - Produtos Ópticos S.A.

University of Lille (NMR analysis of photochromic compounds under irradiation)

University of Pisa (Theoretical analysis of circular dichroism spectra)

Institute of Molecular Biol. and Genetics- Ukraine (NIR probes for proteins)

Institute Org. Chem. –Ukraine (Quantum-chemical calculations)

University of Minho (Photochromic azo dyes)

University of Porto (Smart textiles, Dye-sensitized solar cells and Development of portable chemosensors),

University of Coimbra (Photochemical studies)

University of Beira Interior (Dyes for affinity chromatography)

University of Lisboa (Luminescence life-time measurements)