applied_v2

Objectives

Design and synthesis of new functional organic molecules:

_ Cyanine dyes to be used as photosensitizers for photodynamic therapy of cancer and as fluorescent NIR probes for biomolecules and to be used in dye-sensitized solar cells

_ Heterocyclic photochromic compounds for application in ophthalmic lenses coatings

_ Calixarene-based architectures and carbon nanomaterials for sensory applications, (photo)catalysis, optoelectronic devices, bioimaging and nanomedicine

Team

Paulo Coelho

Photochromism

Principal Investigator

pcoelho@utad.pt

Ceu2018 VF
Céu Sousa

Photochromism

ceumsousa@hotmail.com

santossantos
Paulo Santos

Dyes synthesis

psantos@utad.pt

fotos27
Lucinda Reis

Dyes Synthesis

lucinda.reis@utad.pt

prata
José Prata

Calixarenes

jvprata@deq.isel.ipl.pt

alexandra
Alexandra Costa

Calixarenes

acosta@deq.isel.ipl.pt

PatríciaBarata VF
Patrícia Barata

Calixarenes

pbarata@deq.isel.ipl.pt

PhD Students

André Emanuel Teixeira Polónia

Vanessa Sofia Dias Gomes

Vânia Cristina Santos Sena Graça

Collaborators

Eurico Emanuel Avelar de Serpa Vieira Lima

Jorge Machado

Luis Herculano Melo de Carvalho

Pedro Barbosa

Partnerships

Polo - Produtos Ópticos (Photochromic lens)

University of Lille (NMR analysis of photochromic compounds under irradiation)

University of Pisa (Theoretical analysis of circular dichroism spectra)

Institute of Molecular Biol. and Genetics- Ukraine (NIR probes for proteins)

Institute Org. Chem. –Ukraine (Quantum-chemical calculations)

University of Minho (Photochromic azo dyes)

University of Porto (Smart textiles, Dye-sensitized solar cells and Development of portable chemosensors),

University of Coimbra (Photochemical studies)

University of Beira Interior (Dyes for affinity chromatography)

University of Lisboa (Luminescence life-time measurements)